Category Archives: Books

QBG Reads… If I Was Your Girl

Join us on Wednesday 6/28 @ 7pm in the 4th floor Conference Room for a discussion of the Stonewall Award winning novel If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo! Haven’t read it yet?  There’s still time!  Grab a copy … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books, LGBT, QBG | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Award Winning Books for Pride

Want some quality queer books to help you celebrate Pride this month?  Check out these 2017 award winners! 29th Annual Lambda Literary Award Winner Lesbian Fiction Here Comes the Sun by Nicole Dennis-Benn Gay Fiction The Angel of History by … Continue reading

Posted in Books, LGBT | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

June’s Readalike: Saints for All Occasions

J. Courtney Sullivan’s fourth novel, Saints for All Occasions, follows The Engagements (2013), Maine (2011), and Commencement (2009). In all four novels, Sullivan carefully crafts believable characters and intricate plots that often have to do with relationships and family secrets. … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Not-So-Young Adult Book Group Meeting on 6/21

The NSYA Book Group will be meeting next Wednesday, June 21 at 7pm in the Robbins Library 4th floor conference room. We’ll be talking about The Freedom Summer Murders by Don Mitchell. Copies are still available at the front desk … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Overdrive Big Library Read: The Other Einstein

Do you read e-books? Do you like historical fiction? If you answered yes to both of those questions, you’re in luck! For the next two weeks (June 12-June 26), OverDrive is doing a “Big Library Read,” which means one e-book … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Geek Con Trivia Questions

Did you miss Geek Con (or attend, but forget to pick up a trivia sheet)? Apparently our trivia questions – across four categories – were fiendishly hard! Try your hand at them here: Movies & TV In the Doctor Who … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Programs, Video Games | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Celebrate Pride

The One Hundred Nights of Hero by Isabel Greenberg is a Scheherazade-esque tale of two women in love, Hero and Cherry, telling seemingly unrelated tales that eventually weave into a tapestry that reveals how they came to be where they … Continue reading

Posted in Books, LGBT, Movies, Video Games | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Nonfiction: Where to begin?

If you follow us on Facebook, you might have noticed a new Friday feature: a librarian making live book recommendations in response to your comments. Some comments are quite specific, mentioning particular authors, titles, or genres; but sometimes it’s as … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | 4 Comments

May’s readalike: Anything Is Possible

This month’s readalike is the highly anticipated new collection of short stories by Elizabeth Strout, Anything Is Possible. Strout’s other works include the novels My Name Is Lucy Barton, The Burgess Boys, Abide With Me, and Amy and Isabelle, and … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Cover Crushes

Our librarians sound off on some of their favorite book covers!  (Because let’s face it – we all judge books by their cover sometimes.) When Hild by Nicola Griffith was published, I was instantly captivated by the cover art. Although … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment