Category Archives: Books

Next Not-So-Young Adult Book Group Meeting

Thanks to everyone who came on Wednesday to discuss Grasshopper Jungle! Our next meeting will be on Wednesday, November 15 at 7pm in the 4th floor conference room. We’ll be talking about The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Staff Picks for Hispanic Heritage Month

This month our librarians weigh in on their favorite media that are by Latinx & Hispanic creators or about Latinx & Hispanic characters! I loved season one of Jane the Virgin. Set in Miami and parodying the telenovela style, it … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Movies, music, TV | Tagged , | 1 Comment

National Book Award Finalists

The National Book Foundation has just announced the 2017 finalists for fiction, nonfiction, young people’s literature, and poetry. See below for titles, authors, and links to the books in the library catalog. Fiction Dark at the Crossing by Elliot Ackerman … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Books Change Lives Jar, 2017 edition

Once again, the Books Change Lives/Books Save Lives jar was the star of our Banned Books Week display table. We asked a simple question – “What book changed your life?” and you answered! Some people wrote a title, or a … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Books on the bright side

Here’s a question we get at the library fairly often: someone is looking for a book to read, “nothing too dark…but not fluff.” Maybe this has been you! If so, you’re in luck – we’ve just put together a list … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Leave a comment

Next Not-So-Young Adult Book Group Meeting

The next meeting of the NSYA Book Group will be on Wednesday, October 18 at 7pm in the 4th floor conference room. We’ll be discussing Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith. Here’s the description from Goodreads: “Sixteen-year-old Austin Szerba interweaves the … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Book Lists for Hispanic Heritage Month

September 15, 2017 through October 15, 2017 is Hispanic Heritage Month! Want to read some great books by Hispanic & Latinx authors or featuring Hispanic & Latinx characters?  Look no further! Remezcla has 10 books to help you get through … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Banned Books Week 2017

During Banned Books Week, we celebrate the freedom to read. As you can imagine, this is most librarians’ favorite theme week; after all, as our code of ethics states, “We uphold the principles of intellectual freedom and resist all efforts … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Programs | Tagged , | 1 Comment

September readalike: What She Ate

While August’s readalike on death and dying offered an array of choices for those wishing to face mortality, September’s readalike, What She Ate: Six Remarkable Women and the Food That Tells Their Stories by Laura Shapiro, provides more palatable fare. In … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | 1 Comment

NSYA Book Group meets on 9/20

The Not-So-Young Adult Book Group will meet on September 20 at 7pm in the 4th floor Conference Room. We’ll be discussing In the Shadow of Liberty: The Hidden History of Slavery, Four Presidents, and Five Black Lives by Kenneth C. … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment