Category Archives: Books

December readalike: Manhattan Beach

Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit From the Goon Squad, returns with a novel that is more straightforward, but just as rich: a tale set in New York before and during World War II, featuring Anna Kerrigan, who … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

NSYA Book Group Meets on 12/20

The Not-So-Young Adult Book Group is meeting next week on Wednesday, December 20 at 7pm. We’ll be discussing Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Heiligman. If you haven’t grabbed a copy yet, there are still a few … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

You Haven’t Read __________ Yet!?

Librarians tend to be avid consumers of books & other media, but we’re only human & can’t read (or watch) it all!  This month we asked our librarians “What are some books/movies/TV series/etc. that you (or other people) can’t believe … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Movies, TV, Video Games | Tagged | Leave a comment

November readalike: Smitten Kitchen Every Day

In nearly a year of readalike posts, we’ve found readalikes for adult fiction and nonfiction, YA fiction, memoir, politics, mystery, and short stories. Now, at last, we have our first cookbook: Deb Perelman’s Smitten Kitchen Every Day: triumphant and unfussy … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Next Not-So-Young Adult Book Group

Thank you to everyone who came to the library last night to talk about The Inexplicable Logic of My Life! Our next book is Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Heiligman. Here’s the description from Goodreads: “The … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Who Would You Like To Meet?

We asked our librarians for some characters or people from books, film, music, or games that they would like to meet in real life.  Here are the answers! There are so many characters I’d love to hang out with, it … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Movies, music, TV, Video Games | Tagged | 1 Comment

NaNoWriMo 2017: Ready, set, write!

Today is November 1, which means it is Day One of National Novel Writing Month! Our prep event with Lynette Benton in late October helped many writers to plan their novels. Whether you attended that event, planned on your own, … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Databases and Research, NaNoWriMo, Programs | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Wonder is the 2018 Arlington Reads Together Pick

Have you ever preferred your Halloween costume over your natural appearance? If so, then probably not for the same reason as Auggie Pullman of Wonder. Auggie is a middle schooler growing up with a severe facial deformity, and he likes … Continue reading

Posted in Arlington Reads Together, Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

October readalike: Glass Houses

  Louise Penny’s newest novel, Glass Houses, is the thirteenth mystery in the Three Pines series, featuring Armand Gamache. Some authors may lose steam after so many books with the same character in the same setting, but, Booklist writes, “Penny has … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Next Not-So-Young Adult Book Group Meeting

Thanks to everyone who came on Wednesday to discuss Grasshopper Jungle! Our next meeting will be on Wednesday, November 15 at 7pm in the 4th floor conference room. We’ll be talking about The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment