Category Archives: Books

Nonfiction: Where to begin?

If you follow us on Facebook, you might have noticed a new Friday feature: a librarian making live book recommendations in response to your comments. Some comments are quite specific, mentioning particular authors, titles, or genres; but sometimes it’s as … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

May’s readalike: Anything Is Possible

This month’s readalike is the highly anticipated new collection of short stories by Elizabeth Strout, Anything Is Possible. Strout’s other works include the novels My Name Is Lucy Barton, The Burgess Boys, Abide With Me, and Amy and Isabelle, and … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Cover Crushes

Our librarians sound off on some of their favorite book covers!  (Because let’s face it – we all judge books by their cover sometimes.) When Hild by Nicola Griffith was published, I was instantly captivated by the cover art. Although … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Choose Privacy Week 2017

The first week in May (i.e. this week) is Choose Privacy Week! This year’s display encourages people to think about why library privacy is important. Journalist Glenn Greenwald gave a TED Talk in 2014 called “Why Privacy Matters” (read the … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Technology | Tagged | Leave a comment

Mystery Writers of America announce Edgar Awards

The Mystery Writers of America organization has just announced the winners of the 2017 Edgar awards! See the complete list of nominees and winners for every category at the official Edgars site, and see below for links to the winners … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

April’s readalike: The Hate U Give

This month’s readalike is The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. Even if you don’t usually read young adult fiction, you may have read about this one in the The New York Times article by Alexandra Alter last month, “New … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

How much is your library worth to you?

You may say, “The library is priceless, of course!” And thank you for that – we happen to agree. But for those who like to know the dollar value of the resources they’re using, here is the Library Value Calculator. … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Databases and Research, Technology | Leave a comment

Overdue!

Sometimes books don’t come back to the library before their due date.  We get it – life happens!  In most cases overdue books are safely back on our shelves within a few days.  But every so often that’s not the … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

The Book Isn’t Always Better Than The Movie!

We asked our librarians to tell us some of their favorite book to movie/TV/video game adaptations!  A few even like the adaptation better than the book! One of my favorites adaptations was Let the Right One In (the Swedish version, … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Movies, Video Games | 2 Comments

Make your reading presidential

Many of our presidents have been great readers and writers of books, and of course, they have often been the subjects of  books themselves! Want the next book you read to be a bit more presidential? Visit our display in … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments