Author Archives: Jenny

August Readalike: Death and dying

Death is a somewhat taboo subject, one that most people are uncomfortable discussing – despite the fact that dying is one of the few things all humans (and animals, and plants) have in common. We don’t want to think about … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Readers’ advisory: Connecting readers with books

“Readers’ advisory” is a term that no one out outside of the library profession probably uses. Most of us don’t really like it either – it kind of sounds like we’re warning people away from books, when in fact it’s … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Adult Summer Reading Challenge going strong

Over 100 people have signed up for the “Build A Better World” adult summer reading challenge at the Arlington libraries. If you’re one of them, well done! If you’re not, don’t worry, there’s still time! Sign up online or in … Continue reading

Posted in Programs, Summer Reading | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Browse the Robbins Library Art Print Collection online

Our new Library of Things has proved popular, from the spiralizer to Settlers of Catan (original Library of Things blog post | update with new items added). But we’ve been lending “things” for a long time – namely, art prints! … Continue reading

Posted in Library of Things | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

July’s Readalike: Al Franken, Giant of the Senate

In the first six months of our “readalike” feature, we’ve had a thriller, a nonfiction book, young adult fiction, short stories, a historical novel, and literary fiction. This month, one of the most popular books is a political autobiography: Al … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

June’s Readalike: Saints for All Occasions

J. Courtney Sullivan’s fourth novel, Saints for All Occasions, follows The Engagements (2013), Maine (2011), and Commencement (2009). In all four novels, Sullivan carefully crafts believable characters and intricate plots that often have to do with relationships and family secrets. … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Overdrive Big Library Read: The Other Einstein

Do you read e-books? Do you like historical fiction? If you answered yes to both of those questions, you’re in luck! For the next two weeks (June 12-June 26), OverDrive is doing a “Big Library Read,” which means one e-book … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Today in History: June 13, 1927

This morning, an Arlington resident donated a copy of this issue of The Sun: it happened to be today’s date, June 13…1927. But the first thing I noticed wasn’t the paper’s date, but the headline: LINDBERGH LANDS IN NEW YORK. … Continue reading

Posted in Databases and Research | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Geek Con Trivia Questions

Did you miss Geek Con (or attend, but forget to pick up a trivia sheet)? Apparently our trivia questions – across four categories – were fiendishly hard! Try your hand at them here: Movies & TV In the Doctor Who … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Programs, Video Games | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Summer Reading for All

This year’s summer reading theme is “Build A Better World.” Our prizes are related to the theme: terrarium kits and TisBest gift cards, so winners can donate to the nonprofit organization of their choice. As usual, we’ll also be offering … Continue reading

Posted in Summer Reading | 1 Comment