Author Archives: Jenny

What can you do about fake news? Think before you share

It is perhaps no surprise that “fake news” (defined as “news that is factually false, incomplete, or strongly biased,” not “news with which you disagree”) is still a problem; the 24-hour news cycle and the ability to share easily with … Continue reading

Posted in Technology | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

National Book Award Finalists

The National Book Foundation has just announced the 2017 finalists for fiction, nonfiction, young people’s literature, and poetry. See below for titles, authors, and links to the books in the library catalog. Fiction Dark at the Crossing by Elliot Ackerman … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Books Change Lives Jar, 2017 edition

Once again, the Books Change Lives/Books Save Lives jar was the star of our Banned Books Week display table. We asked a simple question – “What book changed your life?” and you answered! Some people wrote a title, or a … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | 1 Comment

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) 2017

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) provides the “structure, community, and encouragement” for a challenging and fun creative writing venture: during the month of November, participants aim to write a novel (50,000 words). That’s right – write a novel in a … Continue reading

Posted in Databases and Research, NaNoWriMo, Programs | Tagged | Leave a comment

Books on the bright side

Here’s a question we get at the library fairly often: someone is looking for a book to read, “nothing too dark…but not fluff.” Maybe this has been you! If so, you’re in luck – we’ve just put together a list … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Leave a comment

Banned Books Week 2017

During Banned Books Week, we celebrate the freedom to read. As you can imagine, this is most librarians’ favorite theme week; after all, as our code of ethics states, “We uphold the principles of intellectual freedom and resist all efforts … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Programs | Tagged , | 1 Comment

September readalike: What She Ate

While August’s readalike on death and dying offered an array of choices for those wishing to face mortality, September’s readalike,¬†What She Ate: Six Remarkable Women and the Food That Tells Their Stories by Laura Shapiro, provides more palatable fare. In … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | 1 Comment

Introducing…a cookbook club!

We are very excited to share a brand-new book club: the Robbins Library Cookbook Book Club! This group is open to all, but registration is limited to 20 people for each event, so be sure to register! Each meeting we … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Programs | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Adult summer reading challenge: less than a week left!

The adult summer reading challenge is drawing to a close! Bring your bingo sheets to the reference desk to get your tickets to enter into the prize boxes. Tuesday, September 5 is the last day to enter for the prize … Continue reading

Posted in Summer Reading | Leave a comment

August Readalike: Death and dying

Death is a somewhat taboo subject, one that most people are uncomfortable discussing – despite the fact that dying is one of the few things all humans (and animals, and plants) have in common. We don’t want to think about … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment