Author Archives: Jenny

June’s Readalike: Saints for All Occasions

J. Courtney Sullivan’s fourth novel, Saints for All Occasions, follows The Engagements (2013), Maine (2011), and Commencement (2009). In all four novels, Sullivan carefully crafts believable characters and intricate plots that often have to do with relationships and family secrets. … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Overdrive Big Library Read: The Other Einstein

Do you read e-books? Do you like historical fiction? If you answered yes to both of those questions, you’re in luck! For the next two weeks (June 12-June 26), OverDrive is doing a “Big Library Read,” which means one e-book … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Today in History: June 13, 1927

This morning, an Arlington resident donated a copy of this issue of The Sun: it happened to be today’s date, June 13…1927. But the first thing I noticed wasn’t the paper’s date, but the headline: LINDBERGH LANDS IN NEW YORK. … Continue reading

Posted in Databases and Research | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Geek Con Trivia Questions

Did you miss Geek Con (or attend, but forget to pick up a trivia sheet)? Apparently our trivia questions – across four categories – were fiendishly hard! Try your hand at them here: Movies & TV In the Doctor Who … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Programs, Video Games | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Summer Reading for All

This year’s summer reading theme is “Build A Better World.” Our prizes are related to the theme: terrarium kits and TisBest gift cards, so winners can donate to the nonprofit organization of their choice. As usual, we’ll also be offering … Continue reading

Posted in Summer Reading | Leave a comment

Nonfiction: Where to begin?

If you follow us on Facebook, you might have noticed a new Friday feature: a librarian making live book recommendations in response to your comments. Some comments are quite specific, mentioning particular authors, titles, or genres; but sometimes it’s as … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | 4 Comments

May’s readalike: Anything Is Possible

This month’s readalike is the highly anticipated new collection of short stories by Elizabeth Strout, Anything Is Possible. Strout’s other works include the novels My Name Is Lucy Barton, The Burgess Boys, Abide With Me, and Amy and Isabelle, and … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Protecting your pets in summer

We’ve said it before and we’ll say it again: with summer temperatures approaching, please do not leave your pets in parked cars, even with the windows down! Temperatures in cars can rise to 30 degrees over the outdoor temperature within … Continue reading

Posted in Summer Reading | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Choose Privacy Week 2017

The first week in May (i.e. this week) is Choose Privacy Week! This year’s display encourages people to think about why library privacy is important. Journalist Glenn Greenwald gave a TED Talk in 2014 called “Why Privacy Matters” (read the … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Technology | Tagged | Leave a comment

Mystery Writers of America announce Edgar Awards

The Mystery Writers of America organization has just announced the winners of the 2017 Edgar awards! See the complete list of nominees and winners for every category at the official Edgars site, and see below for links to the winners … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment