Author Archives: Jenny

Nonfiction: Where to begin?

If you follow us on Facebook, you might have noticed a new Friday feature: a librarian making live book recommendations in response to your comments. Some comments are quite specific, mentioning particular authors, titles, or genres; but sometimes it’s as … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

May’s readalike: Anything Is Possible

This month’s readalike is the highly anticipated new collection of short stories by Elizabeth Strout, Anything Is Possible. Strout’s other works include the novels My Name Is Lucy Barton, The Burgess Boys, Abide With Me, and Amy and Isabelle, and … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Protecting your pets in summer

We’ve said it before and we’ll say it again: with summer temperatures approaching, please do not leave your pets in parked cars, even with the windows down! Temperatures in cars can rise to 30 degrees over the outdoor temperature within … Continue reading

Posted in Summer Reading | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Choose Privacy Week 2017

The first week in May (i.e. this week) is Choose Privacy Week! This year’s display encourages people to think about why library privacy is important. Journalist Glenn Greenwald gave a TED Talk in 2014 called “Why Privacy Matters” (read the … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Technology | Tagged | Leave a comment

Mystery Writers of America announce Edgar Awards

The Mystery Writers of America organization has just announced the winners of the 2017 Edgar awards! See the complete list of nominees and winners for every category at the official Edgars site, and see below for links to the winners … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

National Library Week 2017: Wrap-up

Here’s what Robbins Library visitors had to say about the library during National Library Week. In your own words… “My library is a safe haven.” “My library has always represented a safe welcoming space where questions are always welcome – … Continue reading

Posted in Programs | Tagged , | Leave a comment

April’s readalike: The Hate U Give

This month’s readalike is The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. Even if you don’t usually read young adult fiction, you may have read about this one in the The New York Times article by Alexandra Alter last month, “New … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Henna tattoos at the library

Have you ever wanted to try henna? Now’s your chance! Mark your calendars for a week from today: on Tuesday, April 18, from 6-8pm at the Robbins Library, henna artist Mandy Roberge will be offering henna tattoos. Henna is safe … Continue reading

Posted in Programs | Leave a comment

National Library Week 2017

For this week only (April 10-15, 2017), you’ll see the National Library Week basket next to the suggestion box on the front desk at the Robbins Library. Fill out a comment card to let us know what the library means … Continue reading

Posted in Programs | Tagged , | Leave a comment

How much is your library worth to you?

You may say, “The library is priceless, of course!” And thank you for that – we happen to agree. But for those who like to know the dollar value of the resources they’re using, here is the Library Value Calculator. … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Databases and Research, Technology | Leave a comment