Author Archives: Jenny

New art prints from the Harvard Museum of Natural History

Three new prints being added to the collection today have an interesting history, having made their way to the Harvard Museum of Natural History by a circuitous route. The artist, Rosalba M. Towne, painted the flowers and plants from the … Continue reading

Posted in Library of Things | Tagged , | 1 Comment

New art prints added to collection

We have just added seven brand-new art prints to the art print collection! See below, and view our Flickr album to see our whole collection. Remember, art prints can be checked out for six weeks at a time. Come take … Continue reading

Posted in Library of Things | Tagged , | Leave a comment

February Cookbook Club and Potluck

Registration is now open for the February meeting of the Robbins Library Cookbook Book Club! This group is open to all, but registration is limited to 20 people for each event, so sign up soon if you’re interested! (Likewise, if … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Top e-books and audiobooks in 2017

Recently, Bustle published a list of Audible’s most listened-to audiobooks of 2017, and I wondered if it matched up with library patrons’ use of audiobooks and e-books through Overdrive. Here are the top ten most-checked-out titles at the Arlington libraries … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Technology | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

December readalike: Manhattan Beach

Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit From the Goon Squad, returns with a novel that is more straightforward, but just as rich: a tale set in New York before and during World War II, featuring Anna Kerrigan, who … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | 1 Comment

Holiday card time!

Don’t you love getting a card in the mail from a friend or loved one? Well, why not be the one to send that card? Take a few minutes out of your day to come to the Reading Room on … Continue reading

Posted in Programs | Tagged | Leave a comment

“I tried harder”: Writers share their NaNoWriMo experiences

Last night was our post-NaNoWriMo wrap-up event, where writers came to share their experiences. Once again, the marvelous writing coach Lynette Benton led the session, and seven writers talked about their stories, their word counts, their titles, and their strategies. … Continue reading

Posted in NaNoWriMo | Leave a comment

Congratulations, WriMos!

Hey, NaNoWriMo participants, it’s December 1! How do you feel? What was it like to participate in National Novel Writing Month? Did you write every day, or skip some and make it up (or not) on others? What inspired you … Continue reading

Posted in NaNoWriMo | Tagged , | Leave a comment

November readalike: Smitten Kitchen Every Day

In nearly a year of readalike posts, we’ve found readalikes for adult fiction and nonfiction, YA fiction, memoir, politics, mystery, and short stories. Now, at last, we have our first cookbook: Deb Perelman’s Smitten Kitchen Every Day: triumphant and unfussy … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Pledge to be prepared

One of our displays this month is on the topic of emergency preparedness. We have a copy of an adult first aid/CPR booklet from the American Red Cross, which is available for free online. We have four checklists that you … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment