Search Results for: readalike

September readalike: What She Ate

While August’s readalike on death and dying offered an array of choices for those wishing to face mortality, September’s readalike, What She Ate: Six Remarkable Women and the Food That Tells Their Stories by Laura Shapiro, provides more palatable fare. In … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | 1 Comment

August Readalike: Death and dying

Death is a somewhat taboo subject, one that most people are uncomfortable discussing – despite the fact that dying is one of the few things all humans (and animals, and plants) have in common. We don’t want to think about … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

July’s Readalike: Al Franken, Giant of the Senate

In the first six months of our “readalike” feature, we’ve had a thriller, a nonfiction book, young adult fiction, short stories, a historical novel, and literary fiction. This month, one of the most popular books is a political autobiography: Al … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

TV Show/Movie Readalikes

Our librarians love watching TV shows & movies!  This month, we’re picking some of our favorites and sharing some books, shows, movies, etc. to help get you through those long stretches between seasons, or for when you’re craving more after … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Movies, TV | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

June’s Readalike: Saints for All Occasions

J. Courtney Sullivan’s fourth novel, Saints for All Occasions, follows The Engagements (2013), Maine (2011), and Commencement (2009). In all four novels, Sullivan carefully crafts believable characters and intricate plots that often have to do with relationships and family secrets. … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

May’s readalike: Anything Is Possible

This month’s readalike is the highly anticipated new collection of short stories by Elizabeth Strout, Anything Is Possible. Strout’s other works include the novels My Name Is Lucy Barton, The Burgess Boys, Abide With Me, and Amy and Isabelle, and … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

April’s readalike: The Hate U Give

This month’s readalike is The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. Even if you don’t usually read young adult fiction, you may have read about this one in the The New York Times article by Alexandra Alter last month, “New … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

March’s readalike: A Gentleman in Moscow

This month’s read-alike focus is the novel A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles. Towles has written one previous novel, Rules of Civility, centered around the marvelous Katy Kontent, an independent young working woman in 1930s New York. Novels are … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

February’s readalike: Hillbilly Elegy

Last month’s readalike was Ruth Ware’s novel The Woman in Cabin 10. This month, we’re looking at an extraordinarily popular nonfiction book, Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by J.D. Vance. Whether you’ve already read it and … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Tired of waiting? Try a readalike

We’re changing up our monthly feature here in 2017: instead of promoting some of the month’s hottest new titles, we’re going to tell you about some books that are similar to popular books, but don’t have long waiting lists. By all … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment