Search Results for: readalike

May’s readalike: Anything Is Possible

This month’s readalike is the highly anticipated new collection of short stories by Elizabeth Strout, Anything Is Possible. Strout’s other works include the novels My Name Is Lucy Barton, The Burgess Boys, Abide With Me, and Amy and Isabelle, and … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

April’s readalike: The Hate U Give

This month’s readalike is The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. Even if you don’t usually read young adult fiction, you may have read about this one in the The New York Times article by Alexandra Alter last month, “New … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

March’s readalike: A Gentleman in Moscow

This month’s read-alike focus is the novel A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles. Towles has written one previous novel, Rules of Civility, centered around the marvelous Katy Kontent, an independent young working woman in 1930s New York. Novels are … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

February’s readalike: Hillbilly Elegy

Last month’s readalike was Ruth Ware’s novel The Woman in Cabin 10. This month, we’re looking at an extraordinarily popular nonfiction book, Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by J.D. Vance. Whether you’ve already read it and … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Tired of waiting? Try a readalike

We’re changing up our monthly feature here in 2017: instead of promoting some of the month’s hottest new titles, we’re going to tell you about some books that are similar to popular books, but don’t have long waiting lists. By all … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment