Monthly Archives: December 2017

February Cookbook Club and Potluck

Registration is now open for the February meeting of the Robbins Library Cookbook Book Club! This group is open to all, but registration is limited to 20 people for each event, so sign up soon if you’re interested! (Likewise, if … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Best Video Games of 2017

2017 was a great year for video games!  Here’s my roundup of my personal favorites of the year! Tales of Berseria (PS4, PC) – I’m a huge Tales series fan & Berseria is probably my favorite of them all.  The … Continue reading

Posted in Video Games | Leave a comment

Arlington’s Favorite Things in 2017

We posted about our top e-books & e-audiobooks of 2017 earlier this week and that made us wonder…  What physical media was popular in Arlington?  How does it differ from the e-content?  Check out the results below! Adult Books: Hillbilly … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Movies, music, TV, Video Games | Leave a comment

15 Sci-Fi Books To Read After Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Craving more sci-fi after seeing Star Wars?  Are Rey & Leia your favorite Star Wars characters? Bummed we still haven’t had a woman direct one of the Star Wars movies? Inspired by Shondaland’s list, we created our own list of … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Leave a comment

Top e-books and audiobooks in 2017

Recently, Bustle published a list of Audible’s most listened-to audiobooks of 2017, and I wondered if it matched up with library patrons’ use of audiobooks and e-books through Overdrive. Here are the top ten most-checked-out titles at the Arlington libraries … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Technology | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

Colonial times in Menotomy

  Come visit our amazing Menotomy Schoolhouse (replica) which  once stood in the area of the Old Burying Ground during the 1600s-1700s.  It’s just one piece of a historical display to discover while in the Library lobby during the month … Continue reading

Posted in Local History, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

December readalike: Manhattan Beach

Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit From the Goon Squad, returns with a novel that is more straightforward, but just as rich: a tale set in New York before and during World War II, featuring Anna Kerrigan, who … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | 1 Comment

NSYA Book Group Meets on 12/20

The Not-So-Young Adult Book Group is meeting next week on Wednesday, December 20 at 7pm. We’ll be discussing Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Heiligman. If you haven’t grabbed a copy yet, there are still a few … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Robbins Library Book Discussion Group: “The Solitude of Prime Numbers” on 1/8

The Robbins Library Book Discussion Group will next meet on Monday January 8 at 7 pm in the Robbins Library Conference Room. The group discusses “The Solitude of Prime Numbers” by Paolo Giordano . New members are welcome. Book will … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged | Leave a comment

Holiday card time!

Don’t you love getting a card in the mail from a friend or loved one? Well, why not be the one to send that card? Take a few minutes out of your day to come to the Reading Room on … Continue reading

Posted in Programs | Tagged | Leave a comment