Monthly Archives: November 2017

November readalike: Smitten Kitchen Every Day

In nearly a year of readalike posts, we’ve found readalikes for adult fiction and nonfiction, YA fiction, memoir, politics, mystery, and short stories. Now, at last, we have our first cookbook: Deb Perelman’s Smitten Kitchen Every Day: triumphant and unfussy … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Pledge to be prepared

One of our displays this month is on the topic of emergency preparedness. We have a copy of an adult first aid/CPR booklet from the American Red Cross, which is available for free online. We have four checklists that you … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Next Not-So-Young Adult Book Group

Thank you to everyone who came to the library last night to talk about The Inexplicable Logic of My Life! Our next book is Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Heiligman. Here’s the description from Goodreads: “The … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

QBG’s Annual “Are You Feeling Pot-lucky?” Potluck!

It’s November, which means Wednesday November 29th @ 7pm (in the downstairs Community Room) will be our annual “Are You Feeling Pot-lucky?” Potluck!  Bring a dish to share with the group if you’re able, otherwise come enjoy the labor of others!  … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Robbins Library Book Discussion Group: “The Wordy Shipmates” on 12/4

The Robbins Library Book Discussion Group will next meet on Monday December 4 at 7 pm in the Robbins Library Community Room. The group discusses “The Wordy Shipmates” by Sarah Vowell. New members are welcome. Book will be available at … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged | Leave a comment

Not-So-Young Adult Book Group meets on 11/15

The NSYA Book Group will meet next Wednesday evening, November 15, at 7pm in the 4th floor conference room. We’ll be discussing The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Saenz. A few copies are still available at the … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Who Would You Like To Meet?

We asked our librarians for some characters or people from books, film, music, or games that they would like to meet in real life.  Here are the answers! There are so many characters I’d love to hang out with, it … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Movies, music, TV, Video Games | Tagged | 1 Comment

December Cookbook Club and Potluck

Registration is now open for the December meeting of the Robbins Library Cookbook Book Club! This group is open to all, but registration is limited to 20 people for each event, so sign up soon if you’re interested! (Likewise, if … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Robbins Library Building 125th Birthday Celebration

This fall, we celebrate two milestones: the Fox Branch Library turns 100, and the Robbins Library Building turns 125! Enjoy a slice of birthday cake with us and share your favorite library memories.  The celebration for Robbins Library Building will … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Open Enrollment for Health Insurance Starts November 1st

In case you haven’t heard, Open Enrollment for health insurance under the Affordable Care Act is November 1, 2017 through January 23, 2018 in Massachusetts.  (A more generous time frame than the federal government’s enrollment period, which is only open … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment