Monthly Archives: October 2017

Attention, foodies and home cooks! Recipe Swap at the Fox

The Cookbook Club only meets every other month, but this month we’re having a related event: a good, old-fashioned recipe swap! Mark your calendars for Wednesday, November 15, from 4-5pm, and join us at the Fox Branch Library in East … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Programs | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Wonder is the 2018 Arlington Reads Together Pick

Have you ever preferred your Halloween costume over your natural appearance? If so, then probably not for the same reason as Auggie Pullman of Wonder. Auggie is a middle schooler growing up with a severe facial deformity, and he likes … Continue reading

Posted in Arlington Reads Together, Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

October readalike: Glass Houses

  Louise Penny’s newest novel, Glass Houses, is the thirteenth mystery in the Three Pines series, featuring Armand Gamache. Some authors may lose steam after so many books with the same character in the same setting, but, Booklist writes, “Penny has … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | 1 Comment

100 years of Fox Branch Library: Part Two

Local historian Richard A. Duffy, a board member of the Arlington Libraries Foundation, is today’s guest blogger.  This is Part 2 of a two-part series honoring the 100th anniversary of the Fox Branch Library in 2017.  To read Part 1, … Continue reading

Posted in Local History | 1 Comment

1 week left in Fine Free Month!

We are waiving fees on all overdue materials this month. But there is only one week left! Do you have any library books at home from slightly to very overdue? Please them back to Robbins or Fox, and as a … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Next Not-So-Young Adult Book Group Meeting

Thanks to everyone who came on Wednesday to discuss Grasshopper Jungle! Our next meeting will be on Wednesday, November 15 at 7pm in the 4th floor conference room. We’ll be talking about The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

How To Survive A Plague – Double Feature

In October we’re reading & watching How To Survive A Plague! Join QBG in discussing the book How To Survive A Plague: The Inside Story of How Citizens and Science Tamed AIDS by David France on Wednesday October 25th. “…the … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, LGBT, Movies, QBG, Queer Book Group | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

What can you do about fake news? Think before you share

It is perhaps no surprise that “fake news” (defined as “news that is factually false, incomplete, or strongly biased,” not “news with which you disagree”) is still a problem; the 24-hour news cycle and the ability to share easily with … Continue reading

Posted in Technology | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Fox Library 100th Birthday Celebration

This fall, we celebrate two milestones: the Fox Branch Library turns 100, and the Robbins Library Building turns 125! Enjoy a slice of birthday cake with us and share your favorite library memories. The celebration for Fox Branch will be … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Not-So-Young Adult Book Group Meets on 10/18

The NSYA book group will be meeting next Wednesday, October 18 at 7pm to talk about Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith. Copies of the next book are also on their way and should be here in time for next week’s … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment