Books on the bright side

Here’s a question we get at the library fairly often: someone is looking for a book to read, “nothing too dark…but not fluff.” Maybe this has been you! If so, you’re in luck – we’ve just put together a list of “Books on the bright side,” inspired by a similar list called “Books that aren’t a bummer,” compiled by our friends at the Cary Memorial Library in Lexington.

Fictionsun and cloud illustration from pixabay

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley (clever cozy mystery)

The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan (romance)

The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde (quirky)

Stardust by Neil Gaiman (fantasy/fairy tale)

Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby (pop music and romance)

All My Friends Are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman (quirky romance)

Cover of Mrs Queen Takes the Train

Mrs. Queen Takes the Train by William Kuhn (delightfully British)

Life of Pi by Yann Martel (inspiring, creative)

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell (friendship and romance)

The Three Weissmanns of Westport by Cathleen Schine (modern Sense & Sensibility)

Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple (quirky, funny)

Today Will Be Different by Maria Semple (funny)

The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows (hopeful)The Storied Life of AJ Fikry

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson (heartwarming)

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion (romance, funny)

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld (modern Pride & Prejudice)

Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan (coming of age)

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin (charming)

Young Jane Young by Gabrielle Zevin (funny, feminist)

Nonfiction

Check out the loooong list of nonfiction books we put together last spring. Here are some more:

Candyfreak by Steve AlmondThe Almost Nearly Perfect People

MWF Seeking BFF: My Yearlong search for a new best friend by Rachel Bertsche

The Almost Nearly Perfect People by Michael Booth

Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson

I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham

You’ll Grow Out of It by Jessi KleinThe Happiness Project

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: (a mostly true memoir) and Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

Bonk: The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex by Mary Roach

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris

Flawless: Inside the Largest Diamond Heist in History by Scott Andrew Selby and Greg Campbell

The Wordy Shipmates by Sarah Vowell

You may also like one of our September readalike books, which center around the place of food and cooking in our lives.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Books on the bright side

  1. Pingback: October readalike: Glass Houses | Robbins Library Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s