Monthly Archives: September 2017

October is Fine Free Month at Robbins and Fox Libraries

Do you have a stack of library books at home or in the car? Have you been worrying about the fines on those items? Worry no more! October 2017 is Fine Free Month at Robbins and Fox Libraries. Please bring … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Books on the bright side

Here’s a question we get at the library fairly often: someone is looking for a book to read, “nothing too dark…but not fluff.” Maybe this has been you! If so, you’re in luck – we’ve just put together a list … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Leave a comment

Next Not-So-Young Adult Book Group Meeting

The next meeting of the NSYA Book Group will be on Wednesday, October 18 at 7pm in the 4th floor conference room. We’ll be discussing Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith. Here’s the description from Goodreads: “Sixteen-year-old Austin Szerba interweaves the … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Book Lists for Hispanic Heritage Month

September 15, 2017 through October 15, 2017 is Hispanic Heritage Month! Want to read some great books by Hispanic & Latinx authors or featuring Hispanic & Latinx characters?  Look no further! Remezcla has 10 books to help you get through … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Meet Cathie Desjardins: Arlington’s newest Poet Laureate

In August, the Board of Selectman confirmed Cathie Desjardins to be the next Poet Laureate of Arlington. In her role as the Poet Laureate Cathie will be the “leading poetic voice and an ambassador for poetry, encouraging the reading and writing … Continue reading

Posted in Programs | Tagged | Leave a comment

Banned Books Week 2017

During Banned Books Week, we celebrate the freedom to read. As you can imagine, this is most librarians’ favorite theme week; after all, as our code of ethics states, “We uphold the principles of intellectual freedom and resist all efforts … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Programs | Tagged , | 1 Comment

September readalike: What She Ate

While August’s readalike on death and dying offered an array of choices for those wishing to face mortality, September’s readalike, What She Ate: Six Remarkable Women and the Food That Tells Their Stories by Laura Shapiro, provides more palatable fare. In … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | 1 Comment

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month!

September 15, 2017 through October 15, 2017 is Hispanic Heritage Month!  Come visit the library and check out our display featuring information & books by and about Hispanic & Latinx-Americans. Here’s some information about the history & celebration of Hispanic … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

NSYA Book Group meets on 9/20

The Not-So-Young Adult Book Group will meet on September 20 at 7pm in the 4th floor Conference Room. We’ll be discussing In the Shadow of Liberty: The Hidden History of Slavery, Four Presidents, and Five Black Lives by Kenneth C. … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment