Monthly Archives: August 2017

A peek backwards – Local History exposing hidden gem series!

This blog post is the first in a series of hidden gems found at Robbins Library or it’s immediate vicinity. The  Childrens Room (Junior Library) once upon a time…   another view                 … Continue reading

Posted in Local History, Programs, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

August Readalike: Death and dying

Death is a somewhat taboo subject, one that most people are uncomfortable discussing – despite the fact that dying is one of the few things all humans (and animals, and plants) have in common. We don’t want to think about … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Next NSYA Book Group Meeting

Thank you to everyone who came to the Not-So-Young Adult Book Group last night to discuss The Good Braider! Our next meeting will be on September 20 at 7pm in the 4th floor conference room. We’ll be discussing In the … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Great American Solar Eclipse Safety Guide

We’ve been overwhelmed with the response to our solar eclipse viewing party and distribution of free glasses. Due to our limited quantity of 40 glasses, we wanted to provide you with some resources on where to buy ISO certified and … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Why do you go to the library?

  Do you enjoy giving your opinion about library services? How about taking this short survey from the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, your state agency? The purpose of the study is to help them understand who uses which library … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Robbins Library Book Discussion Group: “The Bookseller of Kabul” on 9/6

The Robbins Library Book Discussion Group will next meet on Wednesday September 6 at 7 pm in the Robbins Library Conference Room. The group discusses “The Bookseller of Kabul” by Åsne Seierstad . New members are welcome. Book will be … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged | Leave a comment

The Great American Solar Eclipse

In 11 days, a total solar eclipse will transverse the continental United States.  While Arlington is not in the path of totality, we can expect to view the moon obscuring 63.2% of the sun. Join us in garden between Robbins … Continue reading

Posted in Programs, science | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Not-So-Young About Book Group Meets on 8/16

The Not-S0-Young Adult Book Group is back from its July hiatus! We’ll be meeting next week on August 16 at 7pm in the 4th floor conference room. We’ll be talking about The Good Braider by Terry Farish, a novel in … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Fall Book Buzz!

    Looking for something good to read in the next few months? Fall is such a huge time for publishing it can be hard to keep up with the onslaught of new books. But never fear: your friendly local … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Programs | Leave a comment

Saturday hours for Fox Library begin September 9

Starting on Saturday, September 9 the Fox Branch Library will be open on Saturdays from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The new Saturday schedule parallels that of the Robbins Library, which is open on Saturdays from September through June. This … Continue reading

Posted in User experience | Leave a comment