Monthly Archives: August 2017

Adult summer reading challenge: less than a week left!

The adult summer reading challenge is drawing to a close! Bring your bingo sheets to the reference desk to get your tickets to enter into the prize boxes. Tuesday, September 5 is the last day to enter for the prize … Continue reading

Posted in Summer Reading | Leave a comment

Fall Book Buzz List

If you weren’t able to make our Book Buzz event at the library, don’t worry – here’s the whole list of books we talked about! Links go to the library catalog record for the book so you can easily put … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

QBG Reads… Skim

Join us on Wednesday August 30th @ 7pm in the 4th floor Conference Room for a discussion of the graphic novel Skim by by Mariko Tamaki, Illus. Jillian Tamaki! Grab a copy at the circulation desk if you haven’t yet! … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books, LGBT, QBG, Queer Book Group | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Solar Eclipse Viewing Party FAQ

We’ve been overwhelmed by the bright response to our eclipse glasses. It’s wonderful so many people are interested in getting together to watch this unique celestial event. We’ve fielded many questions about our event, so please check this FAQ before … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

A peek backwards – Local History exposing hidden gem series!

This blog post is the first in a series of hidden gems found at Robbins Library or it’s immediate vicinity. The  Childrens Room (Junior Library) once upon a time…   another view                 … Continue reading

Posted in Local History, Programs, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

August Readalike: Death and dying

Death is a somewhat taboo subject, one that most people are uncomfortable discussing – despite the fact that dying is one of the few things all humans (and animals, and plants) have in common. We don’t want to think about … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Next NSYA Book Group Meeting

Thank you to everyone who came to the Not-So-Young Adult Book Group last night to discuss The Good Braider! Our next meeting will be on September 20 at 7pm in the 4th floor conference room. We’ll be discussing In the … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Great American Solar Eclipse Safety Guide

We’ve been overwhelmed with the response to our solar eclipse viewing party and distribution of free glasses. Due to our limited quantity of 40 glasses, we wanted to provide you with some resources on where to buy ISO certified and … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Why do you go to the library?

  Do you enjoy giving your opinion about library services? How about taking this short survey from the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, your state agency? The purpose of the study is to help them understand who uses which library … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Robbins Library Book Discussion Group: “The Bookseller of Kabul” on 9/6

The Robbins Library Book Discussion Group will next meet on Wednesday September 6 at 7 pm in the Robbins Library Conference Room. The group discusses “The Bookseller of Kabul” by Åsne Seierstad . New members are welcome. Book will be … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged | Leave a comment