Monthly Archives: July 2017

Readers’ advisory: Connecting readers with books

“Readers’ advisory” is a term that no one out outside of the library profession probably uses. Most of us don’t really like it either – it kind of sounds like we’re warning people away from books, when in fact it’s … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Adult Summer Reading Challenge going strong

Over 100 people have signed up for the “Build A Better World” adult summer reading challenge at the Arlington libraries. If you’re one of them, well done! If you’re not, don’t worry, there’s still time! Sign up online or in … Continue reading

Posted in Programs, Summer Reading | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Browse the Robbins Library Art Print Collection online

Our new Library of Things has proved popular, from the spiralizer to Settlers of Catan (original Library of Things blog post | update with new items added). But we’ve been lending “things” for a long time – namely, art prints! … Continue reading

Posted in Library of Things | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Arlington Reads Together 2018: the short list

Earlier this month, the Arlington Reads Together committee met and selected 6 books for the the Arlington Reads Together 2018 short list. Committee members will read these titles over the summer and early fall, and one will be selected as … Continue reading

Posted in Arlington Reads Together | Tagged , | Leave a comment

QBG Does Crafts!

Join QBG (Queer Book Group) on Wednesday July 26th at 7PM for a craft night!  We’ll have a craft (or crafts) available, but feel free to bring any crafts you’re working on (or have been meaning to get started on) … Continue reading

Posted in LGBT, QBG, Queer Book Group | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

July’s Readalike: Al Franken, Giant of the Senate

In the first six months of our “readalike” feature, we’ve had a thriller, a nonfiction book, young adult fiction, short stories, a historical novel, and literary fiction. This month, one of the most popular books is a political autobiography: Al … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Robbins Library Book Discussion Group: “Rules for Old Men Waiting” on 8/7

The Robbins Library Book Discussion Group will next meet on Monday August 7  at 7 pm in the Robbins Library Community Room. The group discusses “Rules for Old Men Waiting” by Peter Pouncey. New members are welcome. Book will be … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Leave a comment

Historical digitization has struck again — at Robbins Library

    Robbins Library has just finished digitizing two historical collections:            Town of Arlington Annual Reports   1933 –  2015               and Town of Arlington Street Directories     … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Next Not-So-Young Adult Book Group Meeting

We’re on hiatus for the month of July, but will be back in August! Join us on Wednesday August 16 at 7pm in the 4th floor conference room to discuss The Good Braider by Terry Farish. Here’s the description from … Continue reading

Posted in Book group, Books | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

TV Show/Movie Readalikes

Our librarians love watching TV shows & movies!  This month, we’re picking some of our favorites and sharing some books, shows, movies, etc. to help get you through those long stretches between seasons, or for when you’re craving more after … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Movies, TV | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments