Monthly Archives: May 2017

Geek Con!

Get your geek on at the Robbins Library Geek Con! Join us for a celebration of all things geeky! From superheroes to anime to sci-fi/fantasy and beyond – embrace your inner geek, meet other fans, and partake in a variety … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Nonfiction: Where to begin?

If you follow us on Facebook, you might have noticed a new Friday feature: a librarian making live book recommendations in response to your comments. Some comments are quite specific, mentioning particular authors, titles, or genres; but sometimes it’s as … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Buzz… Buzz… New Bees at Robbins!

Our Friends at Best Bees paid us a visit yesterday and restocked our hives. Our colonies did not make it through the winter, due to varroa mites. This is a common mite that weakens the immune system of bees, making winter … Continue reading

Posted in bees, science | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

May’s readalike: Anything Is Possible

This month’s readalike is the highly anticipated new collection of short stories by Elizabeth Strout, Anything Is Possible. Strout’s other works include the novels My Name Is Lucy Barton, The Burgess Boys, Abide With Me, and Amy and Isabelle, and … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

NSYA Book Group Meets on 5/17

The Not-So-Young Adult Book Group will meet on Wednesday May 17 at 7pm in the Conference Room. We’ll be discussing Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero. Copies are still available at the front desk if you haven’t yet … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Robbins Library Book Discussion Group: “The Tender Bar” on 6/5

The Robbins Library Book Discussion Group will next meet on Monday June 5 at 7 pm in the Robbins Library Community Room. The group discusses “The Tender Bar” by J.R. Moehringer. New members are welcome. Book will be available at … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Leave a comment

Protecting your pets in summer

We’ve said it before and we’ll say it again: with summer temperatures approaching, please do not leave your pets in parked cars, even with the windows down! Temperatures in cars can rise to 30 degrees over the outdoor temperature within … Continue reading

Posted in Summer Reading | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Library of Things!

With apologies to Ariel, “We’ve got gadgets and gizmos a-plenty We’ve got whozits and whatzits galore You want a Library of Things? We’ve got twenty-five!” We are delighted to sing from the rooftops that our Library of Things collection has … Continue reading

Posted in Library of Things, Technology, User experience | 1 Comment

Cover Crushes

Our librarians sound off on some of their favorite book covers!  (Because let’s face it – we all judge books by their cover sometimes.) When Hild by Nicola Griffith was published, I was instantly captivated by the cover art. Although … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Choose Privacy Week 2017

The first week in May (i.e. this week) is Choose Privacy Week! This year’s display encourages people to think about why library privacy is important. Journalist Glenn Greenwald gave a TED Talk in 2014 called “Why Privacy Matters” (read the … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Technology | Tagged | Leave a comment