Monthly Archives: May 2017

Reimagining Our Libraries – It’s survey time

We like to think you love Robbins and Fox Libraries as they are, but there must be ways we can do better. If you could change one thing (or three) what would they be? Tell us by completing our survey. Paper … Continue reading

Posted in Reimagining Our Libraries | Tagged | Leave a comment

NSYA Book Group Meets on June 21

The Not-So-Young Adult Book Group will next meet on Wednesday, June 21 at 7pm to discuss The Freedom Summer Murders by Don Mitchell. Copies of the book are available at the front desk now. Here’s a description: “In June of … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Rockin’ Robbins Book Cart Drill Team Gets The Gold!

Tonight was the 9th annual Massachusetts Library Association Book Cart Drill Team competition.  The Robbins Library Rockin’ Robbins Book Cart Drill Team have been regular competitors since the first annual competition back in 2008, but have never nabbed the elusive … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Geek Con!

Get your geek on at the Robbins Library Geek Con! Saturday June 10th from 10 – 4! Join us for a celebration of all things geeky! From superheroes to anime to sci-fi/fantasy and beyond – embrace your inner geek, meet … Continue reading

Posted in Programs | 1 Comment

Nonfiction: Where to begin?

If you follow us on Facebook, you might have noticed a new Friday feature: a librarian making live book recommendations in response to your comments. Some comments are quite specific, mentioning particular authors, titles, or genres; but sometimes it’s as … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged | 4 Comments

Buzz… Buzz… New Bees at Robbins!

Our Friends at Best Bees paid us a visit yesterday and restocked our hives. Our colonies did not make it through the winter, due to varroa mites. This is a common mite that weakens the immune system of bees, making winter … Continue reading

Posted in bees, science | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

May’s readalike: Anything Is Possible

This month’s readalike is the highly anticipated new collection of short stories by Elizabeth Strout, Anything Is Possible. Strout’s other works include the novels My Name Is Lucy Barton, The Burgess Boys, Abide With Me, and Amy and Isabelle, and … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , | Leave a comment

NSYA Book Group Meets on 5/17

The Not-So-Young Adult Book Group will meet on Wednesday May 17 at 7pm in the Conference Room. We’ll be discussing Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero. Copies are still available at the front desk if you haven’t yet … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Robbins Library Book Discussion Group: “The Tender Bar” on 6/5

The Robbins Library Book Discussion Group will next meet on Monday June 5 at 7 pm in the Robbins Library Community Room. The group discusses “The Tender Bar” by J.R. Moehringer. New members are welcome. Book will be available at … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Leave a comment

Protecting your pets in summer

We’ve said it before and we’ll say it again: with summer temperatures approaching, please do not leave your pets in parked cars, even with the windows down! Temperatures in cars can rise to 30 degrees over the outdoor temperature within … Continue reading

Posted in Summer Reading | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment