Monthly Archives: April 2017

Mystery Writers of America announce Edgar Awards

The Mystery Writers of America organization has just announced the winners of the 2017 Edgar awards! See the complete list of nominees and winners for every category at the official Edgars site, and see below for links to the winners … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

New Blu-Ray Collection!

We’re very excited to announce that the library now offers Blu-Rays for rental, in addition to our DVDs!  Just remember, these won’t play on your standard DVD player.  You’ll need a device that is Blu-Ray compatible – like a Blu-Ray … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Next Not-So-Young Adult Book Group Meeting

Our next book will be Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero. Copies are available at the front desk. Here’s a description from Goodreads: “Gabi Hernandez chronicles her last year in high school in her diary: college applications, Cindy’s … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Ever wonder about that yellow mansion behind the Library?

Come to the upcoming Library program:           Glimpses of Family Life:                        The Whittemore-Robbins House                       … Continue reading

Posted in Local History, Programs, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

National Library Week 2017: Wrap-up

Here’s what Robbins Library visitors had to say about the library during National Library Week. In your own words… “My library is a safe haven.” “My library has always represented a safe welcoming space where questions are always welcome – … Continue reading

Posted in Programs | Tagged , | Leave a comment

April’s readalike: The Hate U Give

This month’s readalike is The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. Even if you don’t usually read young adult fiction, you may have read about this one in the The New York Times article by Alexandra Alter last month, “New … Continue reading

Posted in Books | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

NSYA Book Group Meets on 4/19

The Not-So-Young Adult Book Group will be meeting next Wednesday, April 19 at 7pm. We’ll be discussing Nation by Terry Pratchett. Copies are still available at the front desk if you haven’t picked one up. In addition to our regular … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Robbins Library Book Discussion: “The Things They Carried” on 5/1

The Robbins Library Book Discussion Group will next meet on Monday May 1 at 7 pm in the Robbins Library Community Room. The group discusses “The Things They Carried” by Tim O’Brien. New members are welcome. Book will be available … Continue reading

Posted in Book group | Leave a comment

Henna tattoos at the library

Have you ever wanted to try henna? Now’s your chance! Mark your calendars for a week from today: on Tuesday, April 18, from 6-8pm at the Robbins Library, henna artist Mandy Roberge will be offering henna tattoos. Henna is safe … Continue reading

Posted in Programs | Leave a comment

National Library Week 2017

For this week only (April 10-15, 2017), you’ll see the National Library Week basket next to the suggestion box on the front desk at the Robbins Library. Fill out a comment card to let us know what the library means … Continue reading

Posted in Programs | Tagged , | Leave a comment