Tired of waiting? Try a readalike

We’re changing up our monthly feature here in 2017: instead of promoting some of the month’s hottest new titles, we’re going to tell you about some books that are similar to popular books, but don’t have long waiting lists.

By all means, get on the waiting list for those popular books anyway, but in the meantime, pick up something similar to read while you wait – you might love it just as much!

Readalike graphic, "if you liked that book, try this book!"

Cover image of The Woman in Cabin 10This month’s “readalike” title is The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware , which was published July 2016 and is still in high demand. If you haven’t gotten your hands on it yet, try one of these:

Watching Edie by Camilla Way (2016): A LibraryReads pick, this is the tale of a twisted relationship between two women who were friends in high school; now their roles are reversed to a frightening degree.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (2015): You’ve probably heard of (and maybe already read) this one; the movie version will be available on DVD soon. A woman sees a shocking scene from a moving train, and makes a report to the police, getting involved in the case. Hawkins’ new novel, Into the Water, comes out this May.

The Blue by Lucy Clarke (2015): A small group of friends and travelers on a yacht find romance and a tragic turn of events, leading to a claustrophobic atmosphere. Months later, the ship has sunk, and one friend awaits news of the other.

Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh (2015): This “dark and unnerving” debut novel’s protagonist lives a drab and miserable life, until an enchanting Harvard grad joins the prison staff where she works.

In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware (2015): Ware’s first novel takes place in the countryside, where a bachelorette party goes terribly wrong, leaving the main character in the hospital with memory loss.

Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight (2013): A lawyer in Manhattan races to her daughter’s school in Brooklyn after a phone call, but arrives too late; in the aftermath of tragedy, she works to find the truth about what happened.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (2012): Here’s another one you may have read (or seen the movie), a twisted tale told by two unlikable and unreliable narrators – husband and wife. Caution: reading this book may cause you to look askance at your partner for a few days.

The Other Woman’s House by Sophie Hannah (2012): Taking a virtual tour of a house late at night, a woman sees a body, but when she reports it, it is gone; her husband doesn’t believe her, so she calls the police.

Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson (2011): The main character in this novel forgets everything in her sleep – but she has begun to write things down in a notebook, working with a doctor to recover her memory. She keeps this a secret from her husband, and the more she discovers, the more frightened she becomes. A slow, suspenseful burn.

In the Woods by Tana French (2007): The first of French’s Dublin Murder Squad novels, this one features a detective who is assigned a case close to his own past – though he keeps the connection secret from his partner, and everyone else on the case.

Tip for finding “readalikes”: Try using our database NoveList, which you can access from home with your library card number.

Are you choosing a book for your book club to read? If everyone in your group plans on getting a library copy, make sure there isn’t a long wait. Check out our “What makes a good book club book?” blog post for more tips.

Want a readalike recommendation? Leave a comment below (e.g. “I just finished All the Light We Cannot See and I want more WWII historical fiction!”).

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tired of waiting? Try a readalike

  1. Pingback: February’s readalike: Hillbilly Elegy | Robbins Library Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s