Brand New Books: September Edition

New books in fall are almost as numerous as autumn leaves! Here are just a few you might be interested in this month…

Cover images of Surrender New York, Bookshop on the Corner, The Fortunes, The Wonder

Surrender, New York by Caleb Carr
Criminal psychologist Trajan Jones and his partner Mike Li, a DNA expert, are called in when a number local kids turn up dead. This “high-stakes thriller featuring…clever, determined outcasts” is a “compulsive read” (Booklist). Carr is the author of The Alienist and The Angel of Darkness, among others.

The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan
When Nina is downsized from her library, she decides to open a book shop of her own. Like Little Beach Street Bakery, Colgan’s newest novel features “a heroine who strikes out on her own, a picturesque setting, and charming small-town dalliances. Most of all, though, this cheering tale celebrates the many ways books bring people together” (Booklist).

The Fortunes by Peter Ho Davies
The new novel by the author of The Welsh Girl tells a sweeping story of Chinese-Americans by focusing on four characters, three of whom are based on real historical people. In four sections – Gold, Silver, Jade, and Pearl – Davies “charts the conflicted, complicated journey of being a minority American through multiple generations” (Booklist).

The Wonder by Emma Donoghue
Donoghue is a master of close suspense (Room) and historical fiction (Slammerkin, Frog Music), and she combines the two here. “Inspired by the true cases of nearly 50 ‘Fasting Girls’ who lived throughout the British Isles, western Europe, and North America between the 16th and 20th centuries and became renowned for living without food for long periods of time” (Publishers Weekly), The Wonder is the story of Irish eleven-year-old Anna O’Donnell and English nurse Lib Wright, who is to watch over her to see if her story is true. But as Anna weakens, Lib’s task becomes more complicated.

Cover images of Leave Me, Closed Casket, Commonwealth, A Gentleman in Moscow

Leave Me by Gayle Forman
Author of popular teen novels (If I Stay, Just One Day, etc.) Gayle Forman makes her first foray into adult fiction with Leave Me. Overworked parents – especially mothers working the “second shift” – may identify uncomfortably closely with Maribeth Klein, a mother of twin four-year-olds who suffers a minor heart attack and still doesn’t get the help she needs from her family. So Maribeth does the unthinkable: she leaves, finding a place where she can rest. Physical healing segues into an emotional quest as Maribeth begins to search for her birth mother; perhaps knowing about her past will help her reconnect with her family in the present.

Closed Casket: The New Hercule Poirot Mystery by Sophie Hannah
Sophie Hannah was chosen by Agatha Christie’s estate to resurrect Christie’s beloved detective, Hercule Poirot. The Monogram Murders (2014) is now followed by Closed Casket, in which children’s author Lady Playford announces she is disinheriting her children and leaving her fortune to her secretary. She has invited Hercule Poirot and Scotland Yard detective Edward Catchpool to be present when she makes her announcement, but their presence doesn’t stop a murder that night. Now they must solve it – and everyone has motive. Satisfying suspense for fans of Christie, Hannah, and Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher mysteries.

Commonwealth by Ann Patchett
Patchett is beloved by her many readers, and Commonwealth does not disappoint. There are elements of Patchett’s own life in the novel, a story of two families who become linked when Beverly Keating and Bert Cousins leave their spouses for each other after meeting at the Keatings’ youngest daughter’s christening party. The story spans fifty years and is told through several different family members’ points of view as the parents grow old and the children grow up. Read an interview with the author in BookPage.

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles
The author of the marvelous Rules of Civility returns with a new novel about an aristocrat under house arrest in the Metropol in 1922. Two of our librarians have already read it and loved it; see what they have to say in this episode of Ms.shelved.

See what librarians across the country recommend this month with September LibraryReads. What will you read this month?

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s