Willie Nelson. Not Dead Yet.

In all my years of crafting mix tapes, I’ve only ever included one Willie Nelson song: Half a Man.   He’s usually associated with “tear in my beer” country music (I grew up with it, but I also grew up in Massachusetts, so…), but this one’s a real gem. Go listen to it and tell me that it isn’t smart and timeless and a little bit funny and a little bit sad.  Because it is.

This prompted me to do a little internet sleuthing on ol’ Shotgun Willie (I just googled him.  Don’t tell my coworkers.  It was…inelegant).  Anyhow, there are a million interviews with Willie Nelson detailing his storied career and tragic personal life, his extracurricular activities, and his issues with the IRS. Easy enough to find.  But then I found this.  It’s a documentary about his guitar, Trigger.

Please enjoy:

Put yourself on the hold list for his forthcoming biography, It’s A Long Story: My Life, or pick up some of his very excellent albums (and some of them are on vinyl, if you’re so inclined) at the library, or check out the offerings on Hoopla.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

